Head of School Search

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Sally Keidel
as the 14th Head of The Agnes Irwin School, effective July 1, 2020.


Sally Keidel currently serves as Head of The Montgomery School, a PreK-Grade 8 school in Chester Springs, PA. During her six years as Head of School, Sally embraced the leadership opportunities and challenges inherent in heading a school, leading Montgomery through a visionary strategic plan, implementing a faculty evaluation system, and working closely with the Board of Trustees on a tuition-lowering initiative that led to significant enrollment growth.

Sally, who holds a master’s in educational leadership from the University of Pennsylvania, has enjoyed success in a variety of roles throughout her nearly 30-year career in education — from teacher, to director of residential life, to admissions director. Prior to assuming headship of The Montgomery School, she served as Assistant Head of The Agnes Irwin School from 2012-2014, as well as Director of Admission and Financial Aid from 2007-2014.

"During the search process, Sally impressed us with her clear vision for the future of our school and a love for this community that has never wavered," wrote Board of Trustees Chair Ginny Sharp Williams ’88. "Confident, yet gracious, and a self-described 'connector,' Sally looks forward to reuniting with our community and leading us into our next 150 years."

Sally Keidel, 14th Head of The Agnes Irwin School
Sally B. Keidel

With tremendous enthusiasm and gratitude, I am honored to return to Agnes Irwin to serve as the 14th Head of School. In every conversation I had throughout the search process, I was struck both by this community’s profound commitment to what is best for girls, and its tremendous passion for this school. ... My previous service to this outstanding educational institution created within me a deep belief in the school’s mission to empower girls to learn, to lead, and to live a legacy, and I embrace the opportunity to lead The Agnes Irwin School as we look to the next 150 years. 

Sally Keidel

About the Search Process

The Search Committee — comprised of Board members who are current parents, alumnae, and parents of alumnae; as well as faculty and staff members — partnered with our consultant, Storbeck/Pimentel, to conduct a nationwide search for our next Head of School. The committee solicited input through focus groups and surveys from all AIS constituencies to develop the desired qualifications and experience we sought in our next leader. This comprehensive rubric was the guide against which all applicants were measured throughout the search process, from the initial phone screens through the final candidate visits with administrators, faculty, board, and search committee members.

Communications to the Agnes Irwin Community

Throughout the search process, the Search Committee sought feedback and shared updates with the Agnes Irwin community. Read more below. 

Search Committee


Pat Coyne – Trustee, Parent
Anne Ford – Trustee, Parent

Committee Members:

Elena Bertrand – Math Department Chair, Upper School Math Teacher
Sandy Crockett ’77 – Trustee
Taliba Foster ’88 – Trustee, Parent
Janet Bartholdson Fry ’06 – Middle School History Teacher
Andrew Kress – Trustee, Parent
Tien-Yueh Kubach – Trustee, Parent
Sean McCarthy – Trustee, Parent
Megan McHugh – Associate Director of Lower School Admission and Outreach
Susan Hirtle McEvoy ’00 – Trustee, Parent
Rory McNeil – Trustee, Parent
Erica Shippen ’99 – Literacy Specialist and Coordinator of Lower School Student Support Services
Merritt Weber – Trustee, Parent
Ginny Sharp Williams ’88 – Board Chair, Parent

Emeritus Advisors:

John A. Fry – Trustee, President of Drexel University
Priscilla Sands ’65 – Past Parent, Head of the Marlborough School (CA)

Advisory Committee:

Susan Burch – Trustee, Co-Head of previous Search Committee, Parent
Anne Fritchman Hamilton ’74 – Trustee Emerita, Past Parent
Anita L. McMullin ’81 – Trustee, Co-Head of previous Search Committee
Ann Laupheimer Sonnenfeld ’77, Esquire – Trustee Emerita, Former Board Chair, Past Parent