8 Seniors Recognized by 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program

Eight Agnes Irwin seniors were recently recognized by the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program for outstanding achievement.

“It is wonderful to recognize the outstanding academic accomplishments and personal achievements of these seniors, as well as the extraordinary commitment and vitality of the academic community at The Agnes Irwin School,” says Head of School Dr. Wendy Hill. “Thanks to a rigorous curriculum and vibrant co-curricular program, we are preparing the next generation of women leaders who will have an impact on their communities near and far. We look forward to witnessing the accomplishments of not only these eight scholars, but also their peers.”

Each year, the National Merit Scholarship Program offers college tuition assistance to high performing seniors. More than 1.6 million students apply each year, and only 34,000 of these students — a little more than 2 percent — receive Commended status, with 16,000 students then advancing to the Semifinalist round. Recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program this year are:

Semifinalist: Colette Cavazos

Commended: Madeline Briddell, Kate (Rongzhe) Chen, Lia Della Porta, Elizabeth Dixon, Katherine Glaser, Eliza Pendergast, Caroline Shannon

Back row, from left to right: Caroline Shannon, Madeline Briddell, Eliza Pendergast, Katherine Glaser, Kate (Rongzhe) Chen
Front row: Elizabeth Dixon, Lia Della Porta, Colette Cavazos


Explore More AIS News