News Post

13 Seniors Inducted into Cum Laude Society
13 Seniors Inducted into Cum Laude Society
Television producer and Agnes Irwin School graduate Kate Farrell '93 was the guest speaker at this year's Cum Laude Society Induction Ceremony. Thirteen members of the Class of 2013 were inducted into the honors society on April 30.

Thirteen Agnes Irwin seniors were inducted into the Cum Laude Society on Tuesday, April 30, representing students who have pursued the most rigorous coursework during Upper School.

Upper School students and faculty gathered in the West-Wike Theatre for the annual Cum Laude Society assembly, at which alumna Kathryn Farrell ’93, a producer for the British Broadcasting Corp., addressed the audience.

Farrell, a former Agnes Irwin School Cum Laude Society inductee, holds a B.A. from Brown University and currently works as an executive producer for BBC World News America. Farrell has worked in television production for over 20 years, 12 of which were spent working for CNN. Farrell spoke to the audience about what she learned at Agnes Irwin and what she has taken with her throughout her professional and personal life: compassion, curiosity and confidence.

“Beyond watching a lot of television - and not always of the news variety in high school - I never would have guessed that my career would take me around the world covering stories and working with some of the greatest talents,” said Farrell. “I truly love what I do, but I know it wouldn't have been possible without the foundation I received here and three very important qualities I was taught here that I think will serve all of you just as well.”

Those inducted into the Cum Laude Society this year were Georgia Fortunato, Saskia Hargrove, Taylor Hillman, Carolyn Houlahan, Anne Mentzinger, Emily Offit, Alexandra Pew, Meredith Pollie, Sofia Rodriguez, Elizabeth Scattergood, Molly Shields, Christina Styer and Brooke Sutherland. They are pictured above with history teacher Wigs Frank.